When you flip “Friends List” from off to on, you are presented with the in-game screenshot that’s attached.
The option that this screenshot is referencing actually does absolutely nothing to affect the in-game chat behavior, even if its set to blocked.
Only the 2nd option (from the Xbox.com screenshot) seems to do anything right now, and even it is buggy. When that 2nd option is set to “Friends”, you are unable to see ANY chat messages from non-friends. You can send messages, but you can’t even see your own messages after you send them. The behavior of not being able to see others messages is expected, but it seems entirely silly to even be able to send messages in this state.
My concern isn’t so much with that 2nd option though. I assume that bug is known and being worked on. The issue I see right now is that the 1st option doesn’t seem to do anything AT ALL, even if its set to “Blocked”.
I’ve dealt with waiting the 5-10 minutes that it takes for this Xbox.com option to refresh in-game after waiting, followed by a game restart, but the behavior persists.
Attachments
Comments 4
Thank you for your report!
After consideration, the issue is being closed as Working as Intended.
Please note, that mechanics of the game may change between updates.
Things such as graphics, sounds, world creation, biomes, redstone, villagers, and animals may not work the same in current versions.
Full Version History – Snapshot Version History – The official Minecraft feedback site
Quick Links:
📓 Bug Tracker Guidelines – 💬 Community Support – 📧 Mojang Support (Technical Issues) – 📧 Microsoft Support (Account Issues)
📓 Project Summary – ✍️ Feedback and Suggestions – 📖 Game Wiki
Hello! Minecraft is part of the Xbox system, and you log in with your Xbox account. Therefore, the settings that control the chat behaviors are the ones related to communication "on Xbox" rather than the ones related to communication "outside Xbox".
Thank you for helping us improve Minecraft! We saved your files: