Even though the world format did not change in 26.2 Pre-Release 6, the game requires that a world last opened as soon as the previous pre-release be upgraded “due to underlying changes to the world format” before being opened, edited, or recreated.
How to reproduce:
Launch 26.2 Pre-Release 5.
Create a world and exit the game.
Launch 26.2 Pre-Release 6.
Click on the same world again.
-> ❌ The “Play Selected World” button changes to “Upgrade and Play,” and the “Edit” and “Re-Create” buttons are grayed out.
Expected result:
Worlds from 26.1 or later would be able to be opened, edited, and recreated without needing to upgrade it.
Observed result:
Worlds from as late as 26.2 Pre-Release 5 cannot be opened, edited, or recreated until they are upgraded.
Attachments
Comments 2
Thank you for your report!
After consideration, the issue is being closed as Working as Intended.
Please note, that mechanics of the game may change between updates.
Things such as graphics, sounds, world creation, biomes, redstone, villagers, and animals may not work the same in current versions.
Full Version History – Snapshot Version History – The official Minecraft feedback site
Quick Links:
📓 Bug Tracker Guidelines – 💬 Community Support – 📧 Mojang Support (Technical Issues) – 📧 Microsoft Support (Account Issues)
📓 Project Summary – ✍️ Feedback and Suggestions – 📖 Game Wiki