When clicking the lock button on the World Options screen, it resets the difficulty to what it was when you opened the World Options screen.
Steps to reproduce:
Create a world
Open the World Options screen
Change the difficulty
Click the lock button
Notice how it changed to what it was previously
Thank you for helping us improve Minecraft! We saved your files: