In 1.14.2 It seems to be whenever I expand a map using a cartography table it resets any charted area, and remaps the area I am currently in once done with the table. I was trying to expand the view of my map board and now will have to rechart those areas with pre-expanded empty maps it seems. Which is a pain in the rear if that's intentional.
Now tested in 1.14.3: it keeps the location of where the map was filled, but wipes previously charted area
Linked issues
Attachments
Comments 3
Having the same issue and dug through the bowels of the internet to find a complaint about it.
I just expanded an existing, charted map for the first time in Minecraft Bedrock Edition (most recent, fully updated version) for the Xbox One. I upgraded from a 3/4 map to a 4/4. The new 4/4 map has nothing on it, whereas my old 3/4 map was almost completely charted. Now I have a blank 4/4 locator map.
It is really frustrating that I will have to fill out the whole thing again, and on a larger scale. My partner has not had this issue on his own profile except recently, so maybe this is a bug that has come back with a recent update or something.
Duplicate of MC-883.
This happened to me as well in Xbox One, used cartography table to expand level 3/4 map that was completely filled in, expanded the map and now is entirely blank with only a small area where I am currently standing filled in.
Did not exit map block or enter new map area.