When confirming the deletion of a save game, the game momentarily changes the icons for all other saved worlds to the "missing texture" block (the purple and black checkerboard pattern)
After a moment, the world selected for deletion disappears, and all the images reappear.
Steps to reproduce:
Create a new world in any game mode.
Wait for the world to load, pause, and return to the main menu.
Go to the singleplayer world list and select that newly created world.
Delete it and confirm the operation.
Observed behavior
The world appears momentarily on the screen for a fraction of a second, displaying its image along with those of all the other "untextured" worlds, and is finally deleted after a few milliseconds.
Expected behavior
The world being deleted without "ghosts" appearing on the screen for fractions of a second, which would cause issues with the images of other worlds.
A user-friendly iteration involving the deletion of savegames
Make deleted worlds appear as a popup for X seconds, with an option to undo the action, before they are permanently removed. This way, even after confirming the deletion, the player has a grace period to reverse their decision, since deleting an in-game world does not send the files to the system's Recycle Bin.
Thank you for helping us improve Minecraft! We saved your files: